Whelmed, Close to over

2014.07.16 Gourdwork 002

I am experiencing some odd sort of disconnect right now. Friends are coming over later. Nancy is somewhere doing something very important for her business. Annie is at my side, ever grateful for any drop of tortilla chips that might fall her way. Riley is in the back yard, with his butt in a hole. I am supposed to take them to have their nails done, I need to write my artist’s statement, I have 3 gourds yet to burn, it’s laundry day, I need a shower… I used to live this way all of the time, but since I’ve retired, I almost never have thirteen balls in the air all at once.

Ilah fell on the floor the other day. She had difficulty getting up out of her chair in the kitchen, so we put a lift in it. She dropped a cracker, leaning forward to pick it up off the floor, the lift came up, the chair moved back and BAM! she was in a pile on the floor. She and I were home alone. She told me to call 9-1-1 to help her up, and I thought about doing it by myself, but I’m not as a strong as I once was, so I actually called them. They came and jerked her up off the floor. But they kept asking her if she was all right, which I am sure is their job, but the more they asked the less certain she became, and in no time they loaded her into the ambulance and whisked her away. She came back, four hours later, with a clean bill of health, but she’s been tired ever since.

My precious little Annie, light of my life, is here loyally by my side. Did I mention I’m eating tortilla chips?

I am going crazy. Between the very late 1800s and the 1940s there was a (German, I believe) company that made wooden boxes that were also pyrography kits. I looked it up on Wikipedia once and the name of the company was right there. I has never been able to find exactly the right combination of clues again and I forgot the name. Now I want it, want it, want it. I have probably three of them. (They don’t say anywhere on the box.) I found 3 more for sale in Etsy, but they just say, “Vintage boxes…” I used to be able to remember random facts for more than six minutes.

Called the groomer. Got a message: she’ll call me back. Looks like I’ll have long-toed dogs for another day or so.

The disconnect. I can’t remember what day it is. I go through my to-do list and leave off random items (like yesterday: call the groomer.)

I made a gourd pendant, a beautiful rendition of a Virginia Creeper leaf. It’s really quite nice. I took it to my co-conspirators for the show because I bored the hole too far in and I needed a bail for it. (One of them is a jeweler.) So while we sat there at the Photography and Beyond Meeting, Kim made a very nice bail for me: but now she wants to pendant in the show. And more of them. So I started making pendants this morning (I had a few I’d carved out earlier) but they are…not the same. They don’t have the ‘magic’ the VC pendant had.

Of course, I would be a poor judge of magic, right now–I have been absorbed in these photographs and images so intensely for so long that the other day I fell head-first into a bottomless depression because they are all “flowers and dogs.” (I do take an inordinate number of photographs of ‘flowers and dogs’.) Nancy gave me a wraparound canvas piece from Groupon and I have struggled unbelievably to redeem that…

And I should be doing this and I need to get that done and I have to finish that over there…

I am whelmed.

About cpeck876

I am retired state employee, a writer and a roadside photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment